Posted on

Division and Generalizing Amongst the Autism Community

It drives me crazy. You almost always do not find it amongst other communities involved with disability or illness, either. The autism community is so madly divided. I hate conflict as a whole, always have.

 

Here I Stand

  • My husband and I both have autism. His official diagnosis is Asperger’s syndrome and mine is PDD-NOS. Our two youngest daughters are currently diagnosed with autism or PDD-NOS depending on whom you ask, and our eldest could qualify for an Asperger’s diagnosis though there is for the time being not a need for her to receive a diagnosis. In 2013, excessive labels will be obsolete and autism will simply be called autism. I am in favor of this, however
  • I am not in favor of autism being divided up into clear-cut functioning levels. People are too complex to be so pigeonholed. You don’t know what goes on in a so-called “low-functioning” person’s head. You don’t know all the trials a so-called “high-functioning” person has, including trials identical to a “low-functioning” person’s trials or trials that said “low-functioning” person has in fact overcome. Furthermore, people fluctuate – daily. There is not a need for my eldest to have a diagnosis yet, but this could change at any given moment and she has yet to face the real world’s challenges. Furthermore, labeling people as low to high functioning makes way for inferiority and superiority complexes. I despise this.
  • If people talk about their children smearing poop or having meltdowns, said parents deserves sympathy, not irrelevant nonsense.
  • Autism has its bad points different for all, very bad points. These should not be ignored, especially not when spreading awareness.
  • Autism has its good points different for all, regardless of whether these good points can be expressed by any given autistic individual.
  • No one should be negatively generalized. Not autistic people, functioning labels regardless; not people of any opinions; not parents or any caregivers; not siblings; not teachers; not therapists; not anyone. Generalizing is wrong and negativity directed toward individuals is poison. Adding in the word “many” as an adjective is not going to kill anybody.

About Darcy

Mommy, wife, and person.

4 responses to “Division and Generalizing Amongst the Autism Community

  1. Aspergirl Maybe ⋅

    Hi Darcy,

    So glad you stopped by my blog; I am looking forward to reading more of yours. The division within the autism community feels to me like religion in a way, with different doctrinal positions and church-splits over each issue along the way – it’s a bit intimidating at times.

    Functioning depends on the day and the situation, really, so I agree that it is not very useful most of the time. Anyway, so nice to meet you.

  2. I just have to say that every post of yours I have read causes me to want to shout in agreement!

    Not surprisingly, I am also in full agreement with what you say in this post. Labels are absurd. I think having a diagnosis can help everyone be a bit more understanding, but labeling for the sake of labeling or because we don’t understand another person is just ridiculous! And it makes me angry. I’ve started to write posts about it before, but I have to stop because I get too angry.

    Anyway, that’s all I have to say… getting off my soapbox now. 🙂

  3. Sabrina ⋅

    Hi Darcy, haven’t read you in a while. Hope everything is fine and it is just life that has kept you away from the blog. Hugs!.

Leave a comment